3 New Notifications

New Badge Earned
Get 1K upvotes on your post
Life choices of my cat
Earned 210

Drag Images here or Browse from your computer.

Trending Posts
Sorted by Newest First
S
Salyarych 07.02.22 11:33 pm

Switch + WiFi router = no internet

Good day. I ask for help from the know-it-alls. I'm a complete noob on this topic.
The problem is as follows:
Previously, there was a Wi-Fi router, but by now, the router is not working stably. There are several devices in the room. PC, console and TV. Everyone needs the internet.
In order for the Internet to be stable, I purchased a switch.
But I ran into a problem that the console (XBX SX) cannot connect the Internet via cable, but only works via Wi-Fi.
And I decided to connect Wi-Fi back. Here is the problem.
Connection is like this:
The main network wire is connected to the switch, one cable goes from it to the PC, the second to the TV, the third to the Wi-Fi router. The problem is that when the router is turned on, the Internet does not connect to the PC and TV. But the console works on Wi-Fi. And TV can also be connected via Wi-Fi.

What have I done wrong? How can I make the switch work on both a PC via a direct connection and a Wi-Fi router?
Good people, please help. Chew the noob his mistake.

PS Ethernet cable 1 gigabit. Internet speed 100 megabits. Provider ManNet (Smolensk).
The PC has a built-in network card, soldered to the motherboard (asus rog strix B450-F Gaming II).
TP-Link Switch (TL-SG1005D)
TP-Link Router (TL-WR1043ND)
8 Comments
Sort by:
k
kurskiy 07.02.22

1) On a PC with what error does it not connect?
2) Is the cable connected to the router in the LAN or WAN connector?

V
VETER15 07.02.22

Salyarych
I can’t understand, do you have a router connected to the switch, and from there already cables to a PC and a TV set?

G
Georgy Timoshin 07.02.22